Search This Blog


Kiss Crush Collide by Christina Meredith

Monday, December 19, 2011

Leah has the life most high school girls would kill for—popularity, glowing grades, a rich, athletic boyfriend. So why does she feel like she can’t breathe? And why can’t she stop thinking about the boy from the country club? The one who isn’t her boyfriend, the one that her mother would never, ever approve of, the one that her perfect older sisters would never, ever look at twice. The one who is always looking back at her. Irresistible attraction, smoldering glances, the bad boy and the good girl—Kiss Crush Collide has everything that a steamy forbidden romance should, and then some.

With graceful and honest writing and an electric love story, this is a book about growing into your own skin. For fans of Perfect Chemistry, Sarah Dessen, and John Green.

Goodreads Summary

So many people strive for perfection, but Leah Johnson is flawless without trying. Leah and her family are so perfect they almost seem to shine, but Leah is unhappy. She has never had to work in order to achieve. Being the youngest daughter of her family of five, Leah’s older sisters have paved the way for her excellence. Leah only needs to show up and perform what others expect from her. All this is changing, though. Yorke, Leah’s eldest sister, is getting married at the end of the summer and Freddie, Leah’s other sister, is leaving for France. The changes that are abounding in her life seem to reinforce the idea of the excellence expected from her. Leah should continue on the path her family has created for her, but an irresistible attraction to “the wrong boy” is bringing welcome turbulence into her perfect life. 

Kiss Crush Collide seems to be written for a high school aged audience. The language and writing style used by Meredith is cohesive with teenaged readers. Details such a color, style, slang, and blatant honesty would appeal to high school girls reading Meredith’s novel. This novel is similar to Perfect Chemistry, by Simone Elkeles. Lovers of Elkeles’ trilogy will most likely enjoy this new novel.        

I give this book four out of five stars. The reason I neglected to give the last star is because Leah is not easy to relate to or a sympathetic narrator. Throughout the novel I was frustrated by Leah’s lack of gratitude for her life. She is not thankful for what she has and is unappreciative of her gifts. I do, however, admire Leah for her insight. Leah seems to be searching for reality and honesty throughout the novel and only seems to find it in a boy her family would never approve of. 

*Review by Kristin*

Find this book:


  1. roro said...:

    great review, tnx it's on my wishlist