Search This Blog


Hallowed by Cynthia Hand

Friday, December 23, 2011
For months part-angel Clara Gardner trained to face the raging forest fire from her visions and rescue the alluring and mysterious Christian Prescott from the blaze. But nothing could prepare her for the fateful decisions she would be forced to make that day, or the startling revelation that her purpose—the task she was put on earth to accomplish—is not as straightforward as she thought. Now, torn between her increasingly complicated feelings for Christian and her love for her boyfriend, Tucker, Clara struggles to make sense of what she was supposed to do the day of the fire. And, as she is drawn further into the world of part angels and the growing conflict between White Wings and Black Wings, Clara learns of the terrifying new reality that she must face: Someone close to her will die in a matter of months. With her future uncertain, the only thing Clara knows for sure is that the fire was just the beginning.

Described by Richelle Mead as “utterly captivating,” Unearthly received outstanding reviews, garnered accolades from New York Times bestselling authors, and was named an Indie Next Pick. In this heart-wrenching sequel, Cynthia Hand expertly captures the all-consuming joy of first love—and the agony of loss. This beautifully woven tale will appeal to fans of Lauren Kate, Becca Fitzpatrick, and Aprilynne Pike.

Goodreads Summary

This book will bring the reader back to Clara's world where the reader will once again meet up with Tucker and Christian and encounter the somewhat off-again, on-again love triangle.  Clara is conflicted throughout most of the book.  Is she fulfilling her purpose?  How will she handle a serious death?  Is she doing the right thing or will she have to change her course?

Tucker remains supportive and loving to Clara.  Christian is more on the sidelines, though he is certainly not forgotten.  Christian and Clare certainly have more in common, but Tucker adds that incredible feeling to Clara's life that makes it impossible for her to turn away.  The love triangle continues in this book, much to the chagrin of some readers.  The other characters are slightly more developed, especially the character who will pass away within this book.  The reader can look forward to getting to know more mature, knowledgeable readers.

This book has a calmer pace to it.  There is not as much "finding out what is going to happen" and more of "thinking over the implications and results of what they know" going on.  The reader will still find this book a fast read and will eagerly await the next.  This novel is great for teen/young adult readers.

4 Stars

Find this book:
Barnes and Noble
The Book Depository

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.