Search This Blog

Loading...

Don't Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

Sunday, October 19, 2014

A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together... which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn't sure she's brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who's fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.

Goodreads Summary

Have you ever wanted that leading role in the school play so badly that you would do anything to get it? Ophelia has to do that plus more when she has to get over he deepest darkest fears and anxieties to achieve her dreams. She would have to touch and kiss Peter and shoe just doesn't know if she can bring her brain to meet what herself truly wants.

Seeing Ophelia's struggles with her anxiety about touching others makes you really feel for her problems. You can see a girl that really wants to be in her school play, however her past problems hold her back from really being able to do so fully. She is worried that if she touches anyone, that bad things will happen to her family because of her parents separation. Maybe if she would have gotten some help with her problems, things would have been different but this is where she is.  She is doing her best to get by with what she has available to her. The bumps and bruises along the way make for a thrillingly psychological and intriguing. This is a great YA romance with a twist that many of you readers would love.

4 Stars

*Reviewed by Chris*

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

Endless by Kate Brian


An unthinkable betrayal threatens everyone Rory loves in the third installment of our dark, thrilling Shadowlands series from New York Times best-selling author Kate Brian.

Rory Miller didn't just fall in love with Tristan Parrish. She fell in love with the idea of forever. He was the one who told her the truth about her existence in Juniper Landing: that her mortal life is over, and she will now spend eternity on the island, helping others in limbo move on.

But like Juniper Landing, a bright island with dark secrets, Tristan is too good to be true. The mysterious, heartbreakingly beautiful boy Rory thought she knew is responsible for unthinkable evil-sending good souls to the Shadowlands in order to get himself a second chance at life on Earth. He has already claimed Rory's friend Aaron and her own father, but when SPOILER Tristan sends her sister, Darcy, to the Shadowlands, too, Rory decides to take matters into her own hands. She will do anything to save her family, even if it means going to hell and back.

Goodreads Summary

In the third installment in the "Shadowlands" series, we find Rory in the in between trapped with others on a desert island trying to make sense of the situation with the people trapped along with her. She is in love with Tristan and the idea of being with him forever and wants to find him and be with him. He keeps sending people to the shadow world to save his pretty little self and that doesn't match up with the good person that he comes off as. 

This third book was decent however it was a bit of a disappointment compared to the other two books in the series. The characters were not much more that one dimensional and that didn't really help with bringing the story to life. It is great and selfless that Rory is trying anything to save her family members and I felt for the situation however the story doesn't do a great job at making her and any of the other characters that believe-able. Also when Rory enters into a love triangle when Tristan is gone for just one day defeats any belief that she had a undying love for him. Other than that, there is a decent story that has some redeeming moments, it just doesn't live up to the greatness of the first two in the trilogy.

3.0 Stars

*Reviewed by Chris*

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

Just Girls by Rachel Gold


Jess Tucker sticks her neck out for a stranger—the buzz is someone in the dorm is a trans girl. So Tucker says it’s her, even though it’s not, to stop the finger pointing. She was an out lesbian in high school, and she figures she can stare down whatever gets thrown her way in college. It can’t be that bad.
Ella Ramsey is making new friends at Freytag University, playing with on-campus gamers and enjoying her first year, but she’s rocked by the sight of a slur painted on someone else’s door. A slur clearly meant for her, if they’d only known.

New rules, old prejudices, personal courage, private fear. In this stunning follow-up to the groundbreaking Being Emily, Rachel Gold explores the brave, changing landscape where young women try to be Just Girls.

Goodreads Summary

If you read Gold's first book, "Being Emily," then this loose continuation will definitely pique your interest and draw you in. In a world where acceptance of all is definitely more prominent, we are still worlds away from seeing eye to eye with every way that everyone is or chooses to be. This book focuses on a girl that takes the "fall" for another girl and claims that she is a trans girl just to pull the attention off of someone else and let them have an easier time in college. Jess is tough and figures that she can handle it, and when Ella, the girl who is actually a trans girl finds out, that is where the story picks up.

The characters are definitely interesting  and draw you in fast in this quickly paced book on issues that always existed but are more known of in today's society. The book is very clearly written and does not dance around the points that are being presented. Being someone who is pretty withdrawn from the LGBT world I found it very interesting to read a book that is right in the middle of the issues that exist being a part of this world. The author takes an honest approach that is not condescending or dancing back and just leaves it as it is, and this was very refreshing. This is definitely worth a read for any reader anywhere looking for a fast paced college aged story.

3.5 Stars

*Reviewed by Chris*  

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

The Beast of Seabourne by Rhys A Jones

Saturday, October 18, 2014
Oz Chambers has a wonderful secret; the obsidian pebble, gifted to him by his dead father, is an artefact of astonishing power. The sort of power that makes the year eight science project a hands-down walkover thanks to the the pebble's genius avatar, Soph. But, there are sinister forces abroad who will do just about anything to get their hands on the pebble, and when fellow pupils start being attacked, Oz finds himself in very hot water. Soon Oz and his friends, Ruff and Ellie, are caught up in a centuries old mystery involving a missing ring, lava toothpaste and a murderous monster known as the Beast of Seabourne"

Goodreads Summary

This is an enchanting story that is a delightful sequel that builds very positively on the first book in the series. The Beast of Seabourne is filled with paranormal fun and suspense and you will definitely be feeling a great connection to the very colorful characters. You will find yourself truly entering Oz's world and feeling like you are right there in the action...feeling like you are part of the story.

This book reminds me a lot of a combination of the movie National Treasure and The Wizard of Oz. It has the thrill of the chase for the possession and control of an artifact and an enchanting adventure with some close knit friends. What makes this story even more appealing is the air of mystery and resolution that is evident throughout the book. It keeps the book fun and enlightening, but it still retains a darkness within the story that will keep you wondering in some ways. This is a good thing though because you will want to keep reading if you are contemplating what will happen next and this book definitely does that. Dive into the mystery and bring it to life in your own mind.

4 Stars

*Reviewed by Chris* 


This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ