Search This Blog

Loading...

A Really Awesome Mess by Trish Cook and Brendan Halpin: 250+ Book Giveaway! (USA/CAN)

Thursday, April 24, 2014


A hint of Recovery Road, a sample of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, and a cut of Juno. A Really Awesome Mess is a laugh-out-loud, gut-wrenching/heart-warming story of two teenagers struggling to find love and themselves.

Two teenagers. Two very bumpy roads taken that lead to Heartland Academy.
Justin was just having fun, but when his dad walked in on him with a girl in a very compromising position, Justin's summer took a quick turn for the worse. His parents' divorce put Justin on rocky mental ground, and after a handful of Tylenol lands him in the hospital, he has really hit rock bottom.

Emmy never felt like part of her family. She was adopted from China. Her parents and sister tower over her and look like they came out of a Ralph Lauren catalog-- and Emmy definitely doesn't. After a scandalous photo of Emmy leads to vicious rumors around school, she threatens the boy who started it all on Facebook.

Justin and Emmy arrive at Heartland Academy, a reform school that will force them to deal with their issues, damaged souls with little patience for authority. But along the way they will find a ragtag group of teens who are just as broken, stubborn, and full of sarcasm as themselves. In the end, they might even call each other friends.
A funny, sad, and remarkable story, A Really Awesome Mess is a journey of friendship and self-discovery that teen readers will surely sign up for.


Goodreads Summary

Author Bio/Links:

Trish Cook

Everything you ever needed to know about me

Follow her on Facebook:
or Twitter: @bhalpin
Brendan Halpin

I grew up in Cincinnati, went to college in Philadelphia, and also lived in Taipei and Edinburgh along the way. I've lived in Boston since 1991.

I became a professional writer in 2000, writing about my late wife Kirsten's breast cancer diagnosis and treatment. Kirsten died in 2003, leaving me and our daughter Rowen. I married Suzanne in 2005 and got her kids Casey and Kylie in the deal too. Bargain! Suzanne and I live with our three kids and dog in the shadow of Franklin Park in Jamaica Plain, best neighborhood on earth.


Follow him on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/#!/authorbrendanhalpin?fref=ts


Enter the big giveaway here!

GIVEAWAY:


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Afterparty by Daryl Gregory

Wednesday, April 23, 2014

It begins in Toronto, in the years after the smart drug revolution. Any high school student with a chemjet and internet connection can download recipes and print drugs, or invent them. A seventeen-year-old street girl finds God through a new brain-altering drug called Numinous, used as a sacrament by a new Church that preys on the underclass. But she is arrested and put into detention, and without the drug, commits suicide.

Lyda Rose, another patient in that detention facility, has a dark secret: she was one of the original scientists who developed the drug. With the help of an ex-government agent and an imaginary, drug-induced doctor, Lyda sets out to find the other three survivors of the five who made the Numinous in a quest to set things right.

A mind-bending and violent chase across Canada and the US, Daryl Gregory's Afterparty is a marvelous mix of William Gibson’s Neuromancer, Philip K. Dick’s Ubik, and perhaps a bit of Peter Watts’s Starfish: a last chance to save civilization, or die trying.

Goodreads Summary


Afterparty grips you and doesn't let go until the bitter end.  The book starts with a bang...a suicide and practically races to the finish line after that first, unforgettable scene.  The book is told mainly from Lyda's perspective.  The reader will receive an in-depth understanding of Lyda's complicated mind.   When Lyda hears about Numinous, she realizes that Numinous just may be a drug she helped develop and that she must now try to stop its spread.  I found myself hoping that Lyda and her motley gang could help fix what Numinous destroyed.  I loved how the author detailed the effects and urgent addiction of the drug.  The reader will feel the need to see the drug destroyed.

It's hard not to get attached to the characters in this novel.  I found myself really rooting for Lyda and admiring her while still being horrified that someone with a brilliant mind chose to develop a drug like Numinous.  I liked the secondary characters and thought they played their supportive roles perfectly.  The plot was well-developed and easy to follow.  The setting is in the future, but it's not such a different future as our present give or take a few electronics.  The relationships between the characters were interesting as they all had their reasons for thinking and feeling about one another in a certain way.  Overall, this book is recommended to adult readers.

4 Stars


This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

Contaminated by Em Garner: 250+ Book Giveaway! (USA/CAN)


After the Contamination—an epidemic caused by the super-trendy diet drink ThinPro that turned ordinary citizens into violent, uncontrollable creatures—the government rounded up the "Connies" to protect the remaining population. Now, two years later, the rehabilitated are being allowed home, complete with shock collars that will either control, or kill, them.

Velvet Ellis has struggled to care for her ten-year-old sister since her parents were taken in the round up. When she finds her mother in one of the "Kennels," Velvet resolves to do whatever it takes to put her family back together. But the danger isn’t over. It’s beginning all over again…

Gritty and grabbing, Velvet is a harrowing, emotionally charged novel for fans of Carrie Ryan and The Walking Dead.

Goodreads Summary

Author Bio/Links:

She likes rainbows and unicorns and glitter and zombies, and she hates the feeling of corduroy, the grit of sand in her teeth (who doesn’t?) and the way banana candy tastes.

She lives by the ocean with her family, and she always goes in the water even though she’s afraid of sharks.

Follow her on Twitter: @emgarnerbooks

Enter the big giveaway here!

GIVEAWAY:




a Rafflecopter giveaway

BZRK Reloaded by Michael Grant: 250+ Book Giveaway! (USA/CAN)

Tuesday, April 22, 2014

From best-selling author Michael Grant, comes the highly anticipated, terrifying, and mind-bending second book in the BZRK trilogy. 

The entire BZRK cell--including Noah and Sadie--has been left in pieces after the last round of battle with the Armstrong Twins, conjoined brother who plot to rob mankind of its free will. Vincent's mind is shattered, and his memories hold dangerous secrets--secrets that Lear, BZRK's mysterious leader, will stop at nothing to protect. 

Meanwhile, Bug Man has taken control of the President's brain, but playing with sanity is a dangerous game. The consequences can spiral way out of control, and the Armstrong Twins are not people Bug Man can afford to disappoint.

The nano is as terrifying, exhilarating, and unpredictable as ever. But the wall of secrets that surrounds it is cracking. What will it reveal? And once the dust has settled, who will be sane enough to find out? 

Goodreads Summary

Author Bio/Links:

I was born in a manger and grew up in a log cabin where I read law books by firelight. . . Oh, wait, that wasn't me, that was someones else. 

I had a hard childhood. Hard for my parents. Not that bad for me. I was an Army brat, moved around a lot. Then I didn't settle down. I just kept moving. Why? What inner turmoil drove me? Mmmm, I gotta say none. I just have a short attention span. Easily bored. 

I'm living in Tiburon, CA right now. How much longer? Don't know.

I've written 150 books. That's right, I said 150. In your face, Stephen King. Granted, mine are shorter than his. And less popular. And less likely to be made into a major motion picture. And I guess i don't play in a band with Dave Barry, either, do I? 

Sorry: Salieri complex acting up.

Most of those books -- and by "most" I mean 149 out of 150 -- I wrote with my wife, the lovely, the talented, the eternally hot, Katherine (K.A.) Applegate. We've been together for 29 years. Which is a long time. Looooong time. Sweet lord what a long . . . No babe, I'm not implying anything.

Damn internets: you never know who's reading things.

Anyway, GONE. My goal in writing GONE? To creep you out. To make you stay up all night reading, then roll into school tired the next day so that you totally blow the big test and end up dropping out of school. 

GONE. Imagine a world where every adult vanishes in an instant. 

Follow him on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authormichaelgrant?fref=ts
or Twitter: @thefayz

Enter the big giveaway here!

GIVEAWAY:


a Rafflecopter giveaway