Search This Blog

Loading...

Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Thursday, January 9, 2014


The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann

Goodreads Summary

Would you want to be a known pre-murderer?  When I first read this book I loved the idea...until I realized that even I would have no control over who labelled me with "homicidal tendencies."  Children get slapped with labels all the time in high school, but homicidal tendencies seems like it would be one of the worst.  Davy was labelled as a Homicidal Tendency Syndrome carrier in a world where she is ostracized for it.  Davy used to have it all, but now her best friend acts like Davy has the plague and her boyfriend ignores her (unless he wants a certain something).  

Davy's character is fun to read about because I was always on her side.  She is kind and nice; it was impossible for me to picture her as a murderer.  However, when you think of the definition of homicidal tendency syndrome, the author wasn't super clear.  Could an HTS carrier simply be someone who might defend themselves by thinking of killing another person ...or carrying out the threat?  My field of choice deals with neuroethics all the time and it is very difficult to label someone based upon tests that are in these books, yet fascinating that the opportunity may arise.  This book is highly recommended for young adult/teen readers.

4 Stars

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.

1 comments:

  1. Berenice said...:

    I've been wanting to read Sophie's Firelight series since forever. I even own the books but I just haven gotten to them. Uninvited sounds really interesting and how pretty is this cover? I'm going to have to add this one to my 'to-read' list too. Fantastic review, thank you! =)