Search This Blog

Loading...

The Thousandth Floor by Katharine McGee

Sunday, June 19, 2016

New York City as you’ve never seen it before. A thousand-story tower stretching into the sky. A glittering vision of the future, where anything is possible—if you want it enough.

Welcome to Manhattan, 2118.


A hundred years in the future, New York is a city of innovation and dreams. But people never change: everyone here wants something…and everyone has something to lose.

Leda Cole’s flawless exterior belies a secret addiction—to a drug she never should have tried and a boy she never should have touched.

Eris Dodd-Radson’s beautiful, carefree life falls to pieces when a heartbreaking betrayal tears her family apart.

Rylin Myers’s job on one of the highest floors sweeps her into a world—and a romance—she never imagined…but will her new life cost Rylin her old one?

Watt Bakradi is a tech genius with a secret: he knows everything about everyone. But when he’s hired to spy by an upper-floor girl, he finds himself caught up in a complicated web of lies.

And living above everyone else on the thousandth floor is Avery Fuller, the girl genetically designed to be perfect. The girl who seems to have it all—yet is tormented by the one thing she can never have.

Debut author Katharine McGee has created a breathtakingly original series filled with high-tech luxury and futuristic glamour, where the impossible feels just within reach. But in this world, the higher you go, the farther there is to fall….
 

Goodreads Summary

I read through other reviews before beginning this book and I have to say, the reviewers claiming this book is reminiscent of Pretty Little Liars or Gossip Girls (both shows, I watched) are telling the truth.  The characters all live in an impressive and technologically advanced high rise.  The higher the floor the more privileged and wealthy the person.  I loved how the author included fantasized pieces of technology that I had never thought of or cared about and fashioned them into the story.  Technology ran rampant in the plot and I loved how the authors applied it.  

The characters were Ok.  They were definitely flawed and it was hard to like any of them, at times.  I think Avery or Eris were my favorites, but I largely didn't like them during the book either. Many characters lacked empathy and it was flinch-worthy to read their thoughts on others.  I was surprised that the vast majority of the characters were unlikable, but it didn't make me not want to finish the story.  I liked the descriptions and how the book altered between each characters' viewpoint.  This book would definitely be a good read for fans of Gossip Girls or Pretty Little Liars or a reader looking for something a bit different and challenging.

4 Stars


This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

0 comments: