Search This Blog

Loading...

Lucky Few by Kathryn Ormsbee: Review and Giveaway!

Monday, June 13, 2016


ABOUT LUCKY FEW:
In the tradition of Me and Earl and the Dying Girl comes a hilarious, madcap, and quirky debut novel about a group of oddball teens struggling to find themselves when facing their own mortality.

The life of homeschooler Stevie Hart gets all shook up when she meets a strange boy, Max, who survived a freak near-fatal accident and is now obsessed with death. He enlists her and her best friend, Sanger, to help him complete his absurd “23 Ways to Fake My Death Without Dying” checklist. What starts off as fun begins spiraling downward when Stevie’s diabetes sabotages her fumbling romance with Max, Sanger announces she’s moving out of state, and then death—real death—cuts close to home.



REVIEW:
I know what it is like to be obsessed with something, but it's hard to imagine being obsessed with death.  Stevie survives an accident that could have killed her and finds herself completely immersed in "death."  Stevie is a homeschooler and precocious and smart.  She has diabetes and isn't always too careful about managing it (it must be very difficult though).  When she meets Max she gets to fulfill her death fascination in a new way-they try to create a checklist to see how they can die without actually dying.  Max is determined to do the list to completion.  Unfortunately, things involving death-and the heart-are usually dangerous.  

Stevie was a fun character to read about.  I really did enjoy her and like her.  I felt like the book had a little bit of the humor of Me, Earl, and the Dying Girl, but that this book was in a different category.  The focus wasn't entirely on humor, but on friendships and fixation.  I liked how fast-paced the plot was and there weren't really any chapters that lagged for me.  This book could easily be enjoyed by teen/young adult readers.

4 Stars


LINKS: Amazon | B&N | Indiebound | iBooks


ABOUT KATHRYN ORMSBEE:
Hello! I am a ginger girl who writes stories. My debut novel, THE WATER AND THE WILD, is a Middle Grade fantasy out now from Chronicle Books, with a sequel to follow in Fall 2016. My YA debut, LUCKY FEW, will be published by Simon & Schuster in Summer 2016. THE HOUSE IN POPLAR WOOD, a standalone MG fantasy, comes out in 2017.
I was born and raised in the Bluegrass State. Then I went off and lived in places across the pond, like England and Spain, where I pretended I was a French ingénue. Just kidding! That only happened once. I also lived in some hotter nooks of the USA, like Austin, TX. Now I'm back in the land of Proper Autumn.
In my wild, early years, I taught English as a Foreign Language, interned with a film society, and did a lot of irresponsible road tripping. My crowning achievement is that the back of my head was in an iPhone commercial, and people actually paid me money for it.
Nowadays, I teach piano lessons, play in a band you've never heard of, and run races that I never win. I likes clothes from the 60s, music from the 70s, and movies from the 80s. I am from the 90s.
Are you still reading? Then you are a phenomenal human being and deserve a great big virtual HUG. Thanks for visiting, and enjoy your stay!
xoxo Kathryn



Tour Schedule:
Week 1:

Week 2:


Giveaway:
3 Finished Copies of LUCKY FEW (US Only)



a Rafflecopter giveaway

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

0 comments: