Search This Blog

Loading...

The Winter Witch by Paula Brackston: Blog Tour!

Tuesday, December 24, 2013











Fledgling witch Morgana must defend her love, her home, and her life in this enthralling tale perfect for fans of Discovery of Witches

In her small Welsh town, there is no one quite like Morgana. She has never spoken, and her silence as well as the magic she can't quite control make her a mystery. Concerned for her safety, her mother quickly arranges a marriage with Cai Bevan, the widower from the far hills who knows nothing of the rumours that swirl around her. After their wedding, Morgana is heartbroken at leaving, but she soon falls in love with Cai’s farm and the rugged mountains that surround it, while slowly Cai himself begins to win her heart. It’s not long, however, before her strangeness begins to be remarked upon in her new village. A dark force is at work there—a person who will stop at nothing to turn the townspeople against Morgana, even at the expense of those closest to her. Forced to defend her home, her love, and herself from all comers, Morgana must learn to harness her power, or she will lose everything.

Paula Brackston's debut novel, The Witch's Daughter, was the little book that could—with a captivating story, remarkable heroine, and eye-catching package, it has now netted over 40,000 copies in all formats. Now Paula returns with The Winter Witch, another enchanting tale of love and magic, featuring her signature blend of gorgeous writing, a fabulous and intriguing historical backdrop, and a headstrong and relatable heroine readers will cheer for.

Goodreads Summary



Morgana is an interesting character.  Her non-speaking actually made it easier to get to know her character.  I loved how she was strange...though the characters in the novel were not always so fond.  Morgana's mother worries that she cannot make a good match for her daughter and marries her off to a widower, Cai.  Cai is a very good man.  I loved his gentle and sweet ways.  The slow and steady way the relationship developed was at a good pace and made me root for the two of them.  However, not all is lovey-dovey for Morgana and Cai, something is causing Morgana a lot of trouble.

I liked how this book focused on these two characters.  I felt like I really knew them at the end of the book and really missed them when I put the book down.  The airy feel of suspense in the plot gave me spine-tingles while I was reading.  I literally couldn't wait to turn the pages.  Overall, this book is recommended to adult readers.

4 Stars


This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews.

4 comments:

  1. Lynne said...:

    I was fortunate to win a copy of The Winter Witch earlier this year and I absolutely adored it!
    I had never read a book where the main character was mute and it was SO interesting to see how the author worked this angle with Morgana. It was so well done! Morgana is one of my favorite book characters now.
    Paula Brackston's writing was beautiful and I felt fully immersed in the story and on the mountains with Morgana and the horses

  1. Susan T. said...:

    I am dying to read this and that trailer just made it worse! Lol!

  1. Amy Mays said...:

    I love the trailer . It made me want to read this book even more.

  1. Berenice said...:

    The Winter Witch sounds really good. I have to admit that I'd seen this book before (the cover always caught my attention) but I'd always ended up skipped it. Now I think I would love to read it. Going to add this one to my list. Great review, thank you! =D