Search This Blog

Loading...

Devil's Hand by M.E. Patterson

Sunday, November 6, 2011
A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.

The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn't long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.

As a serial kidnapper terrorizes the city, Trent and his wife, Susan, rescue a strange, thirteen year-old girl, only to find themselves caught in a fallen angel's plot to cleanse Las Vegas with an unholy blizzard.

As the neon dims and the city freezes, Trent is forced to make terrible sacrifices in order to protect his new charge, and learns dark truths about himself and the creatures plotting against mankind. Poker-playing demons, fallen angels, and otherworldly shades all vie to enlist his strange luck, and Trent must choose his role in the coming War, or watch our world fall to ruin beneath a blanket of shadow and ice.


Goodreads Summary

This book is guaranteed to keep the reader on his/her toes.  There is constant action and excitement with some undercurrents of menace when the antagonists come in.  Trent is the main character, he is surprisingly likable, the reader will have no trouble connecting to him.  The reader will learn a little bit about Trent's background in the beginning of the novel, then get to know him better further in. 

Trent and his wife return after being run out of Las Vegas...and they walk right into trouble.  They help a thirteen year-old girl and continue to shelter her, leading them into danger and catalyzing the plot of the novel. 

Who doesn't like to read about an evil antagonist?  How about a Fallen Angel?  There are many angel novels in the works right now; however, Patterson manages to make the concept appear more believable, even scary.  The secondary characters, for the most part, as fun to get to know.  The plot is different and intriguing-with a hint of irony (fallen angel literally bringing a cold day in hell to earth).  The events are fast-paced and will keep the book moving consistently until the end.  This book is recommended to adults.

4 Stars

2 comments:

  1. Denise Z said...:

    I have been seeing the one around lately and think it sounds intriguing. Thank you for sharing about the Devil's Hand today.

  1. Krystal Larson said...:

    I think you'll enjoy it-it's a surefire book to get your son or husband reading too!