Search This Blog


All the Wounds in Shadow by Anise Eden

Friday, August 26, 2016

For fans of Karen Robards and Shiloh Walker, Anise Eden brings us the mesmerizing sequel to her paranormal romantic suspense novel "All the Broken Places."

Cate's enemies aren't just surrounding her―they're inside her head.

Therapist Cate Duncan has just accepted a job with the MacGregor Group, a unique collective of alternative healers. She's excited by the prospect of honing her empathic healing techniques among others like herself -- aura readers, telepaths, crystal healers, and more. The fact that Cate just started dating Ben, her magnetic new boss, is an added bonus. 

Before Cate can settle into her new routine, the poisoning of a prominent neuroscientist draws the entire MacGregor Group into both a federal investigation and an even more insidious threat. Protected by Ben's former Marine Corps unit, Cate and her colleagues must use their alternative healing methods to solve the crime as their patient clings to life. 

The responsibility of discovering crucial information falls to Cate and her parapsychological powers. But for Cate, unraveling the mystery means reopening wounds that had just begun to heal -- and in the environment of the Marine Corps unit, differences between Cate and Ben become clearer, straining their budding romance. When a new crisis looms, Cate must trust in her colleagues' gifts and the strength of Ben's love, finding the courage to confront her deepest and most terrifying demons -- or her own life will be at risk.

Goodreads Summary

I love Karen Robards; even though I had not heard of this author before, I knew that I had to give this book a shot! Cate can heal in an unusual way, but it comes in handy more often than not. When a doctor is too incapacitated to tell the healers who poisoned him, Cate and the others are able to utilize their different talents to save the day. Along with the thrill of a story that reminds me of the T.V. show Stitchers to some degree, there is a steamy, heady romance that the reader can't help but enjoy.

Cate's character is somewhat adorable. She did sometimes feel like the helpless heroine (in the sense that she relied on her friends and lover, at times). However, she was perfectly capable of saving the day with her own skills, compassion, and intellect. Ben is the handsome love interest. Their romance scenes were sweet and satisfying. I was completely convinced he really loved her partway through the book. The paranormal aspect was both intriguing and fun to read about. I wished I had Cate's abilities and could join the MacGregor group (a group that helped solve governmental issues)! 

4 Stars

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ