Search This Blog


Shuffle, Repeat by Jen Klein

Tuesday, September 13, 2016
When Harry Met Sally for YA romance readers. This opposites-attract love story is perfect for fans of Huntley Fitzpatrick, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han.
June wants high school to end and real life to begin. Oliver is soaking up senior year’s glory days. They could have coasted through high school, knowing about—but not really knowing—each other.

Except that their moms have arranged for Oliver to drive June to school. Every. Single. Day.

Suddenly these two opposites are fighting about music, life . . . pretty much everything. But love is unpredictable. When promises—and hearts—get broken, Oliver and June must figure out what really matters. And then fight for it.

Goodreads Summary

I think I would be annoyed it my mom ordered a boy to drive me to school every day (even if it was nice of her and made it more convenient for me). As soon as I started this book I could see where it was going. Two very different and somewhat obnoxious people were going to be attracted to each other, but first they were going to undergo obstacles. Although Oliver wasn't dating June in the beginning, I knew they were going to end up together at some point. Oliver had a girlfriend, June had her own set of girls who were friends with her, and this whole set up sort of reminded me of Gilmore Girls plus some more mature parts. 

I actually preferred Oliver's character. He was quirky, funny, and wasn't afraid to tell June what he thought. June was a little bit harsher, though I think that was more due to the circumstances than her own character. Their high school romance was what I would want if I had actually wanted to date in high school. It was sweet, affectionate, and overall adorable. Their spats over music were hilarious and caused me to look up more than a few songs. I liked how June asked her girlfriends for advice and came to the realization that her mom was not just her mother, but a person with her own personality and life experiences. Overall, this book is highly recommended to young adult/teen readers.

4 Stars

This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ