Search This Blog

Loading...

Falling Into Place by Amy Zhang

Tuesday, July 21, 2015


On the day Liz Emerson tries to die, they had reviewed Newton’s laws of motion in physics class. Then, after school, she put them into practice by running her Mercedes off the road.

Why? Why did Liz Emerson decide that the world would be better off without her? Why did she give up? Vividly told by an unexpected and surprising narrator, this heartbreaking and nonlinear novel pieces together the short and devastating life of Meridian High’s most popular junior girl. Mass, acceleration, momentum, force—Liz didn’t understand it in physics, and even as her Mercedes hurtles toward the tree, she doesn’t understand it now. How do we impact one another? How do our actions reverberate? What does it mean to be a friend? To love someone? To be a daughter? Or a mother? Is life truly more than cause and effect? Amy Zhang’s haunting and universal story will appeal to fans of Lauren Oliver, Gayle Forman, and Jay Asher.
 

Goodreads Summary

Although this book is depressing, it was also fascinating to read a book about suicide from the point of view from several characters including Liz.  I definitely didn't like all the characters and wouldn't like them in real life, but I still enjoyed their stories and found that their flaws made them more human than the typical female characters usually written about.  I loved how the author wove physical physics with "emotional" physics.  It was interesting to read and place how Liz's attempted suicide affected this person and that person and how they were all related to her in some way; it was similar to the individual strands in a spider web.  

The book covers an array of typical and atypical teen problems.  Teens can be cruel and bullying is an issue for many people in high school; suicide and abortion affected people for life.  Liz's character was selfish, yes, but I do feel bad for anyone who feels that to end his/her life is the only option.  I think people who think that people who attempt suicide are selfish haven't experienced the same feelings and issues.  Some people are "softer" and more easily affected by things than others.  Liz comes off as cold and Queen B in attitude, but she is more easily affected than she lets on.  I loved how the author maintained a flowing writing style and this will make me seek out the author in the future.  This book is recommended to young adult/teen readers.

4 Star



This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

1 comments:

  1. I hadn't heard of this book before but it certainly sounds like an interesting book! I feel like there are more and more books these days about children who are ill/people who have committed suicide and I feel reluctant to get drawn into this depressing genre, but I think I'll give this one a shot!

    Laura @ What's Hot?