Search This Blog

Left: A Love Story by Mary Hogan

Friday, August 3, 2018

In this beautifully crafted novel from the author of the critically-acclaimed Two Sisters, comes the story of a woman who retreats into a fantasy world on New York City’s Upper West Side as she slowly loses her once whip-smart husband to dementia—perfect for fans of Still Alice.

When life falls apart, a little fantasy goes a long way… 

It started as a dream vacation in Spain, with Fay and Paul Agarra enjoying all the delights of a European holiday. A respected New York City judge, Paul has always been the man Fay can rely on, no matter what. When he inexplicably disappears from a Barcelona street corner, Fay knows something is terribly wrong. Once reunited, Paul shrugs off the episode as a simple misunderstanding—but Fay suspects her almost perfect life has taken a dark and sudden turn.

Soon there are more signs that Paul is beginning to change. Bouts of forgetfulness lead to mistakes in the courtroom. Simple tasks cause unexplainable outbursts of anger. Fay’s worst suspicions are realized when she learns her husband—her rock, her love, her everything—is succumbing to the ravages of dementia. 

As her husband transforms before her very eyes, Fay copes with her fears by retreating into a fantasy life filled with promise instead of pain. In Fay’s invented world, she imagines herself living a glamorous life free from heartache, with a handsome neighbor she barely knows rescuing her from a future she can’t accept. 

Poignant and beautifully crafted, Left is an unforgettable tale about life’s aching uncertainties—and a woman who discovers that somewhere between hope and reality, an unexpected future will find its way forward.

Goodreads Summary

As someone who often works with men and women afflicted with neurological disorders I found this book particularly interesting. The author executed the progress and horrible demands of dementia well. I could tell that she had done her research or, possibly, experienced this disorder with someone within her own life. The book was well-written and filled with emotion. It isn't easy to lose a loved one and stand by helplessly while he/she leaves behind a shell of his/her former self. With diseases like dementia, is it particularly hard as often there isn't too much initial physical decay. 

Fay's life changes drastically over the course of this book. It causes her to increase her commitment, think over her life with her husband, and realize the importance of living in the "now." Fay's family and friends try to assist her, but ultimately cause interference more than anything. It is hard to truly grasp how difficult it is to be a caregiver until one is put in that position. This is not usually a quick decline. With an increasing elderly population there are more and more cases of dementia/Alzheimer's/etc... This novel would be a good book to read if one is currently going through (or expects to potentially experience) this crisis. 

4 Stars





This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

0 comments: