Search This Blog

Loading...

Invincible by Amy Reed

Thursday, September 15, 2016

The Fault in Our Stars meets Go Ask Alice in this dramatic romance about a teenage girl who survives a terminal cancer diagnosis, only to get trapped in the deadly spiral of addiction. Fans of Gayle Forman and Sara Zarr will be swept away by this gritty romance, the first in a duology.

Evie is living on borrowed time. She was diagnosed with terminal cancer several months ago and told that by now she'd be dead. Evie is grateful for every extra day she gets, but she knows that soon this disease will kill her. Until, miraculously, she may have a second chance to live.

All Evie had wanted was her life back, but now that she has it, she feels like there's no place for her in it—at least, not for the girl she is now. Her friends and her parents still see her as Cancer Girl, and her boyfriend's constant, doting attention is suddenly nothing short of suffocating.

Then Evie meets Marcus. She knows that he's trouble, but she can't help falling for him. Being near him makes her feel truly, fully alive. It's better than a drug. His kiss makes her feel invincible—but she may be at the beginning of the biggest free fall of her life.
 

Goodreads Summary

Evie used to be a cheerleader; she used to love doing stunts and spending time with her boyfriend, Will. Now, she is known as Cancer Patient to all those that do not understand. She has friends in the hospital, Stella and Caleb, who understand what she has gone through. They all know that their friendship may not be permanent as their diagnoses may be terminal. When Evie receives a sudden reprieve right when Stella is dealt a hard blow, Evie reacts to her newfound health by acting out and nearly destroying it.

Evie's character annoyed the heck out of me. I understand that she was a cancer patient, I understand that her life was hard, but she really overplayed the "I can do what I want" card once she was healthy. She gets into drugs (partially due to Stella) and finds herself with "a bad boy." Her parents, friends, and caring boyfriend are worried. Her character and the "too stupid to live" decisions she made really wrecked a good plot-line for me. I'm pretty character driven; it is difficult to care too much about a book once I've checked out of caring for the characters. I may give the next book a try though.

3 Stars


This product or book may have been distributed for review, this in no way affects my opinions or reviews. COPYRIGHT © 2014 LIVE TO READ

0 comments: